Skip to content

BirdSpotter Photo Contest: Week 10 Winner!

January 22, 2013

Congratulations to Tyler Smith of Dallas, TX, our winner for the tenth week of the BirdSpotter Photo Contest sponsored by Bob’s Red Mill! The theme for the week was “birds at the feeder”– what a wonderful capture of a male Northern Cardinal about to indulge!

Tyler Smith of Dallas, TX capture this winning photo of a male Northern Cardinal at his feeder

Tyler Smith of Dallas, TX capture this winning photo of a male Northern Cardinal at his feeder

As it turns out, Tyler was actually hoping for a painted bunting when he snapped this winning photo! He writes:

We had recently moved to a new area in San Antonio and I had seen a male painted bunting for the first time.  I decided to sit outside on the porch with my camera and read for a bit to see what other new birds might come by.  As luck would have it, I didn’t see any other painted buntings that day.  However, this cardinal came and landed on the feeder while I was reading.  I don’t know how long he had been there, but as I aimed my camera and pressed the shutter he was just in the process of taking off!  Although he came back to the feeder several times that day, this was by far the best picture I took.  This picture has become one of my lasting favorites.

You never know what lasting memory might happen when you’re FeederWatching!

The eleventh week of our BirdSpotter Photo Contest will be open for submissions and voting this Wednesday, January23rd! This week’s theme is “natural foods,” so try to capture birds eating berries, chowing down on insects, or birds enjoying another natural food source. Only one photo can be submitted per person but you can vote for as many photos as you like.  This week’s contest starts today Wednesday, January 23rd and runs through Sunday, January 27th.

2 Comments
  1. Chrisjr permalink
    January 26, 2013 8:30 pm

    I like cardinals

  2. February 5, 2013 3:03 pm

    Great capture, Tyler. Love those Cardinals!

Comments are closed.