Skip to content

Low on birds? Take a look at our live cam!

January 25, 2012

Many FeederWatchers have been lamenting over low bird counts this winter, but not Tammie Haché – our live FeederWatch Cam host!  If you’re feeling low on birds, why not watch Tammie’s feeder for a while?

Tammie reports: “Things are insanely busy at the web cam!  I’m averaging between 100 and 200 birds at a time in the backyard, mostly Evening Grosbeaks, Pine Grosbeaks and Common Redpolls.  I opened my 5th – 40 lb bag of seed yesterday.  Last winter, I only used 3 bags all season long!”

Take a virtual trip to Manitouwadge, ON and Tammie’s plethora of birds here!

Note to Mac users: make sure you have Flip4Mac installed in order to view the live stream.  You can download it here.

3 Comments
  1. Debra Craig permalink
    February 2, 2012 5:31 pm

    We moved into our new home in October. I was thrilled to see so many of the Woodland birds which I love watching. However, this past week…only a few birds have appeared over the the last week. I heard an owl in the tree around midnight one night and that’s when I noticed the severe decline in birds. Do you think the owl is my problem in declining birds? I cannot see or have I heard the owl since but the birds are nowhere to be found.
    Thanks, Debi

    • February 6, 2012 2:49 pm

      Hi Debra,

      It is unlikely that an owl would scare away your feeder birds since owls don’t usually prey on feeder birds. It is hard to know for sure why birds “disappear” sometimes. We have some possible reasons here.

  2. Marilyn Gagnon permalink
    March 9, 2012 5:15 pm

    Am writing from MA and our feeder birds are definitely on the decline. MA Audubon Society did a bird count about a month or six weeks ago and this was the general response, same as mine, that the population of even the common birds were declining.

    We have many hawks that I fo think watch and feed off our feeders in a neighborhood that is not all woodsy. So they are hungry and need to eat as well. Does not make us very happy about it, but nature is nature. There is no spraying around here at this winter weather which has been very mild. Only about three snowstorms, very unusual, the plowers are really hurting because of it.

    So there are many changes going on and it all could be part of natures weather changes that are talked about. Severe weather all over the US this past year and those terrible tornadoes just within the last week. I am off the subject, but it all could be a part of why birds are declining as the migration I am sure is beginning as well to come north.

Comments are closed.