Skip to content

The Twelve Days of FeederWatch

December 22, 2011

FeederWatcher Beth Larson of Ithaca, NY recently shared with us a fun holiday song that she and her son came up with. We thought we would share it with all you FeederWatchers as a fun holiday treat.

Beth and her son Jesse (9) just started Project FeederWatch this year. Beth says Jesse “gets so excited when we spot a bird we haven’t had before! One day while we were watching, we said it would be funny if there was a FeederWatch 12 days of Christmas, so we started to play with the tune right then. That evening, we worked together (though he actually did most of it) to create the song.”

Enjoy, and happy holidays from all of us at Project FeederWatch!

A snowy Red-bellied Woodpecker by Patty Levin of Pennington, NJ

The Twelve Days of FeederWatch

By Beth and Jesse Larson

On the first day of FeederWatch my true love saw with me a Red-bellied Woodpecker

On the second day of feeder watch my true love saw with me

Two Downy Woodpeckers

And a red-bellied woodpecker.

On the third day of FeederWatch my true love saw with me

Three Mourning Doves,

Two downy woodpeckers,

And a red-bellied woodpecker.

On the fourth day of FeederWatch my true love saw with me

Four White-breasted Nuthatches,

Three mourning doves,

Two downy woodpeckers,

And a red-bellied woodpecker.

On the fifth day of FeederWatch my true love saw with me

Five Goldfinches,

Four nuthatches,

Three mourning doves,

Two downy woodpeckers,

And a red-bellied woodpecker.

On the sixth day of FeederWatch my true love saw with me

Six Blue Jays squawking,

Five goldfinches,

Four nuthatches,

Three mourning doves,

Two downy woodpeckers,

And a red-bellied woodpecker.

On the seventh day of FeederWatch my true love saw with me

Seven Cardinals chasing,

Six blue jays squawking,

Five goldfinches,

Four nuthatches,

Three mourning doves,

Two downy woodpeckers,

And a red-bellied woodpecker.

On the eighth day of FeederWatch my true love saw with me

Eight hummers humming,

Seven cardinals chasing,

Six blue jays squawking,

Five goldfinches,

Four nuthatches,

Three mourning doves,

Two downy woodpeckers,

And a red-bellied woodpecker.

On the ninth day of FeederWatch my true love saw with me

Nine Titmice perching,

Eight hummers humming,

Seven cardinals chasing,

Six blue jays squawking,

Five goldfinches,

Four nuthatches,

Three mourning doves,

Two downy woodpeckers,

And a red-bellied woodpecker.

On the tenth day of FeederWatch my true love saw with me

Ten crows a crowing,

Nine titmice perching,

Eight hummers humming,

Seven cardinals chasing,

Six blue jays squawking,

Five goldfinches,

Four nuthatches,

Three mourning doves,

Two downy woodpeckers,

And a red-bellied woodpecker.

On the eleventh day of FeederWatch my true love saw with me

Eleven chickadees flitting,

Ten crows a crowing,

Nine titmice perching,

Eight hummers humming,

Seven cardinals chasing,

Six blue jays squawking,

Five goldfinches,

Four nuthatches,

Three mourning doves,

Two downy woodpeckers,

And a red-bellied woodpecker.

On the twelfth day of FeederWatch my true love saw with me

Twelve juncos crowding,

Eleven chickadees flitting,

Ten crows a crowing,

Nine titmice perching,

Eight hummers humming,

Seven cardinals chasing,

Six blue jays squawking,

Five gold finches,

Four nuthatches,

Three mourning doves,

Two downy woodpeckers,

And a red-bellied woodpecker.

One Comment
  1. July 11, 2012 11:53 pm

    Love This,and I Love Birds,Allison***

Comments are closed.