Skip to content

What are your fondest FeederWatch memories?

June 30, 2011

A big anniversary is approaching as we begin our 25th season of Project FeederWatch this coming fall! Please help us celebrate this milestone by submitting your fondest FeederWatch memory. You can use the comment function on this blog to share your most memorable FeederWatch moment, and be sure to let us know how long you have been FeederWatching. We’re sure that your fellow participants and bird-watchers will appreciate reading through the stories. Thanks for the memories!

11 Comments
  1. Brandon permalink
    June 30, 2011 6:37 pm

    I have been FeederWatching since 2006. My favorite moment so far was in March of 2009, when a Hermit Warbler visited one of my suet feeders. Two factors made this event special: (1) Hermit Warblers rarely winter this far north and (2) my wife, who is not a birder, was able to distinguish it from our regular Townsend’s Warblers and alerted me to its presence.

  2. July 20, 2011 11:25 am

    Last winter was my first PFW count. One of the most exciting things was the Hermit thrush who became a regular visitor–with interesting antics when at the suet (hanging) feeder. That has turned me into an avid, if only fledgling, bird watcher. That in turn has motivated me to go for long walks even in the North Carolina hot summers.

  3. July 20, 2011 5:02 pm

    My husband and I just participated in PFW for the first time this past winter. The shared experience brought us closer and provided excitement to our dreary winter months. And it also launched us into a new and more enthusiastic phase of birding. I can’t believe how much richer our lives feel when we tune in more to nature each day.

  4. July 21, 2011 10:50 am

    We live in Northern Wisconsin. When we first moved here in 1993 we had a lot of Evening and Red Breasted Grossbeaks coming to our feeders. Now ,however , we are happy if we just see one pair and that was this spring. What has happened to them ? We have been faithfully putting out sunflower seeds.
    Also our humming bird population is down even tho I keep fresh sugar water in their feeders we get very few .
    Now this summer we can’t afford to put out the sunflower seeds since they have jumped from $15. to $34. a bag.( We are on social security ).
    We are fortunate to have plenty of GoldFinches and a lot of redwinged blackbirds.
    The blue jays will be back come fall .

    • Brandon permalink
      July 22, 2011 2:50 am

      Evening Grosbeak populations in the United States peaked in the 1960s and 1970s due to large outbreaks of spruce budworm, which they use as a food source. The decline of Evening Grosbeak populations since the 1980s coincided with dramatic drop-offs in spruce budworm outbreaks.

  5. July 23, 2011 12:22 pm

    I have been a member for 6 or 7 yr. I think. I had a mother Hairy woodpecker feeding her baby right in front of my grandkids. We got to take pictures of the 2 of them. Then this year spring time, may 23,2011 we had a flock of Evening Grosbeak come in. There was about 30 or 60 of them. We have a platform feeder, I put a gal. of food on it & it was all gone in an hour. They stayed around for about 3 weeks, then left. A few of them stayed around. I got lots of pictures of them on my feeder.

  6. August 8, 2011 4:12 pm

    Joining Project Feeder Watch two years ago inspired me to try my hand at making paper mache models of some of my backyard friends.Three-dimensional bird bodies are formed in wire, then covered in newspaper and Elmer’s glue and finally colored with art papers and a treasured collection of old recipes, dictionary pages, sheet music and old love letters. Birds are mounted on driftwood from San Francisco Bay.

    Now, I make sure that food and water are plentiful so that I can lure my models for close observation. I also refer to the beautiful photographs posted on the Cornell website. See a few of the hundred birds I have made to date at http://www.nancyovertondesign.com, click “Paper Birds”.

    • February 22, 2012 6:16 pm

      Nancy, I just visited your site. Your work is wonderful!

      • February 23, 2012 11:25 am

        Thank you. I have a lot of fun doing it and have just begun some herons and crows. It’s a great way to learn more about the birds.

        Nancy

  7. August 10, 2011 9:49 am

    We live northeast of Toronto, ON. When we moved here 30 years ago, we planted about 300 trees and cedars. We have watched them grow and the bird populations increase constantly. I have counted 4 pairs of cardinals nesting, all bringing their young to the feeders, mourning doves, chickadees, jays, nuthatches, redpolls, house finches, song sparrows, goldfinches, piliated woodpeckers, downy woodpeckers, robins raiding the mountain ash and cherry trees, barn swallows, redtail hawks, barn owls and swallows. Unfortunately, the killdear have taken up residence elsewhere with the constant decline of farmland and evening grosbeaks, I wish would return. And the baltimore orioles have returned this year.

  8. August 24, 2011 1:20 pm

    I live in Bedford, Texas and get all kinds of beautiful birds, and squirrels, at our backyard feeders and bird baths. One day I noticed a rather large bird sitting on the edge of my bird bath facing out. He was obviously not there to get a drink or at least not at that moment. I grabbed my binoculars and lo and behold … it was a Red Tail Hawk. He was beautiful! I also noticed a squirrel scampering along the fence line at the back of the yard. They obviously had not seen each other at this point. They were approximately 20 feet apart. However, the squirrel made a 45 degree turn to the bird bath, or at least to the feeders around the bird bath, and in about 5 seconds the hawk spotted the squirrel and the squirrel spotted the hawk. It was exactly at the same time because they both simultaneously jumped straight up about a foot and the squirrel took off to save his skin… and the hawk flew away just because…. he was embarrassed for being started by the squirrel… I guess… LOL It was a wonderfully comedic site to witness and one that I probably will not see again. You never know what you are going to see when you watch bird feeders activity.

Comments are closed.