Skip to content

Project FeederWatch in Action in Baton Rouge, LA!

February 21, 2013

A fourth grade science class at the Westdale Heights Academic Magnet in Baton Rouge, LA, has been participating in Project FeederWatch this season and loving it! Pamela Fry’s class, with the help of volunteer Dennis Demcheck, have been learning about birds through Project FeederWatch.

“Several science teachers… have come to me and remarked that the students’  intense interest in birds (feeders outside classroom windows) has sparked a wider interest in science,” says Dennis.  The students started observing and counting feeder birds in November 2012 and have been drawing the birds that they see. “The students are still drawing birds and giving the drawings to me,” he says. “They can’t stop and neither can I.  This is a presentation that will never be finished–only updated.”  Dennis put together this fantastic slide show to share the students’ enthusiasm for birds and Project FeederWatch…check it out!

23 Comments
  1. February 21, 2013 9:43 pm

    Thanks for doing this. It is a great thing you are doing for the next generation. Let me know if I can help. Murrell Butler

  2. Someone in WHAM 4th grade permalink
    February 22, 2013 6:23 pm

    Hello i am someon in the 4th grade in WHAM and i love this presentation. I thank Ms.Fry and dennis demcheck. I know they worked alot on this. 😺 :) :) :)

  3. zorion mcclarty permalink
    February 22, 2013 7:32 pm

    those look like some smart students!!! i also like the slide. it’s fabulous!!!!!! the student teacher looks like a good helper!!!
    . .
    ~

    • devon bozeman (wham 4th grade student) permalink
      February 26, 2013 9:05 am

      loved doing the slide

  4. oreo mcclarty (zorion) permalink
    February 22, 2013 7:37 pm

    i love the slide!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. Ms.Zay permalink
    February 22, 2013 9:25 pm

    I am very impressed with these children’s talents.I will be checking this website often so that I may see more of these children’s extraordinary talents.

  6. February 22, 2013 10:38 pm

    It was really fun to see this slide show. I was amazed how accurately the students drew the birds. I talked with my son (Marquis Robinson) and he knew a lot about them as well, which lets me know that they are learning while having fun. Great job kids, Ms. Fry and Mr. Demcheck!!!

  7. rhysborders permalink
    February 26, 2013 9:03 am

    birds!:)

  8. secret permalink
    February 26, 2013 9:06 am

    This project was a fun experience for our school!!!!!!! I want to give a thank you to Mr.Dennis Demcheck.Our school is still drawing birds!!! THANK YOU!!!!!!!!

  9. madison moore (WHAM 4th grade student) permalink
    February 26, 2013 9:09 am

    I loved the slide!!!!!!!!!!!!!! :) B)

  10. Cameron Faulk permalink
    February 26, 2013 6:13 pm

    I liked the slide show !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  11. Doryan Wilkins /Science Teacher permalink
    March 1, 2013 9:15 pm

    Hello,this is Doryan Wilkins this FeederWatch project help encourage our minds.The project was really fun and interesting and it gave us information about birds and all the drawings may help us be artist nobody know . But I thank Mr.Dennis Demcheck and the wonderful teacher Ms.Fry . I really loooooooooooooooooooooooooovvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvveeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee science it is really cool!!!!!!!!!

  12. Susan Lala permalink
    March 7, 2013 9:26 am

    The drawings show how very observant the students are. Do they share with the group what birds they see around their homes?

    • Dennis Demcheck permalink
      March 7, 2013 3:43 pm

      Definitely! When I +drop by the classroom to pick up drawings the students throng around me telling me the new birds they have seen. It’s terrific.

  13. Linda Chernault permalink
    March 7, 2013 2:48 pm

    I have loved bird watching for a long time and enjoyed the slide show very much. I was impressed with the accuracy of all of the details of the artwork. The colors were gorgeous and overall captured the birds beauty. I think you should print off those pages and use them to sell at an art fair. And to pass out to other schools to share your project. Congratulations to all.

  14. Jalen Wheelock permalink
    March 7, 2013 7:41 pm

    i am a wham student that is helping with the feederwatch project.i learned alot about birds and loving the slide.i couldn’t do it without Mr.Demcheck and Ms. fry help. llllllllllllllooooooooooovvvvvvvvviiiiiiiiinnnnnnnnnnnnnnggggggggggggg it! peace

  15. March 7, 2013 11:59 pm

    I love that story…the bird art too!

  16. Chyna Beaulieu (WHAM student) permalink
    March 14, 2013 7:48 pm

    I loved doing this slide. I was really exited to hear that you guys love the art!!

  17. Debbie Dorn permalink
    March 19, 2013 3:44 pm

    Great work Dennis!!!

  18. Elmo on sessame street permalink
    April 30, 2013 4:13 pm

    I love this poject. its so cool!!!

  19. secret permalink
    April 30, 2013 4:17 pm

    I thought the slide was AWSOME!Also now i am going to draw even more birds.

  20. bigbird permalink
    April 30, 2013 4:20 pm

    mr demcheck did do alot of work bigbird

  21. Big Bird permalink
    April 30, 2013 4:21 pm

    I LOVE THE PROJECT FEEDERWATCH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Comments are closed.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 984 other followers